Operating with the presence of drugs (OWPD), is a crime in the state of Michigan. If convicted, the consequences are severe, but not nearly as severe as the penalties for a second offense conviction. If charged with OWPD first offense, you are facing a possible imprisonment of up to 93 days, fines of as much as $500, 360 hours of community service, and suspension or revocation of your driver’s license, possible ignition interlock, possible vehicle immobilization, driver responsibility fees, and 6 points added to your driver’s license by the DMV.
Many question what exactly determines a conviction of operating with the presence of drugs (OWPD). This charge occurs when someone is caught operating a vehicle on any public highway or roadway with any amount of a Schedule 1 drug on them.
If charged with OWPD, it is imperative you retain the services of a highly qualified and reputable Michigan DUI defense law firm.
Contact Rudoi Law today.