Operating Under the Influence of Liquor (OUIL)
Michigan Law states that you can be convicted of operating under the influence of liquor even for drivers age 21 and over who have a BAC below the state’s legal limit of 0.08% (commercial drivers 0.04%). Police simply have to be able to prove that you are not able to operate a vehicle in a safe manner due to the effect of alcohol. Convicted or not, penalties may still apply if administrative charges are filed by Michigan DMV. Although a conviction for an OUIL is severe, and most are likely to be charged for operating while intoxicated (OWI). First time convictions can result in up to 93 days in jail, driver responsibility fees, fines as much as $500, and up to six month’s drivers license suspension.
The Lawyers at Rudoi Law provide a combative, compelling defense for anyone accused of operating under the influence of liquor. Commitment to protecting your legal rights and preventing a conviction is our central objective.